Grok’s Cost Challenge And OpenAI’s New Rules: What You Need To Know
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Grok’s Cost Challenge And OpenAI’s New Rules: What You Need To Know on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a change. In the same week, OpenAI set limits on paid accounts linked to a device or payment card and said several plans will share one ChatGPT and Codex allowance from December.

Elon Musk said Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new paid-account limits and said ChatGPT and Codex usage will draw from one allowance starting in December. The developments put renewed attention on how AI subscriptions manage heavy use, but neither company’s announcements establish that flat monthly pricing is ending.

Musk made the statement in a reply on X after a user asked whether Grok Bot users could get a usage reset, saying that many people had run out of usage quickly that week. The post supplied no cost, revenue or margin figures. It did not specify whether xAI had changed the usage pool, whether users would receive a reset, or whether pricing would change. The comment concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, not Grok chat generally.

OpenAI’s help information says limits apply to how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought using one payment card or device. The listed plans include Go, Plus and Pro tiers; the source material says OpenAI has not published a numerical cap. Separately, OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business users will have a shared token allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. Unlimited Instant chats are described as outside that allowance.

OpenAI also increased some high-tier allowances during the same week. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received double their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. That account differs in scope from a broader post by OpenAI employee Thibault Sottiaux, who said limits were being doubled across Pro tiers and Business Premium. The release notes provide the more specific description of the changes.

At a glance
updateWhen: Developments reported Nov. 1, 2026; Ope…
The developmentMusk’s statement about Grok Bot costs coincided with OpenAI’s new account controls and planned shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How AI Subscriptions Measure Heavy Use

The announcements show why a monthly subscription price does not necessarily mean identical access for every workload. A short chat reply and an agent that researches or codes for an extended period can demand very different amounts of computation. xAI’s documentation says Grok Bot usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, rather than simply by the number of messages, and that consumption depends on the task.

OpenAI’s planned shared allowance makes that accounting more visible for users who move between ChatGPT and Codex: activity in one service can draw from the same pool as activity in the other. For businesses, that can affect forecasting and the cost of using AI tools across teams. Buyers may want written details on allowances, overage rules and reset schedules before committing to a plan. For individuals, checking the usage page may help clarify whether a limit reflects a task’s intensity, a shared pool or a service issue.

Still, the available information does not prove that AI subscriptions as a whole are moving away from flat monthly fees. It points to limits and metering within some subscriptions, while the exact effect on customers depends on each provider’s rules and any changes it announces.

Products Worth Considering

DJI Osmo Mobile 8 Gimbal with Mic Mini Transmitter, Infinity Black

DJI Osmo Mobile 8 Gimbal with Mic Mini Transmitter, Infinity Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Plans Behind the New Limits

OpenAI launched a $200-per-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier remark is relevant to the current discussion, but it does not establish the financial position of OpenAI’s plans today.

xAI launched its X Subscription on Oct. 12, 2026. According to the source material’s account of xAI’s pricing page, Grok Bot is included with Premium at $30 per month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, but not Free or Plus. Its use draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the coding tool Cursor. The source does not provide independent financial figures for the service.

OpenAI’s changes likewise combine expanded allowances with tighter account controls and a new shared meter. Those are separate policy decisions; the source material does not show that one caused another. They appeared within the same week, making it useful to distinguish more usage on certain plans from controls on account sharing and the coming combined allowance.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, in a reply on X on Nov. 1, 2026

What the Companies Have Not Disclosed

Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue, margins or the size of any usage adjustment. He also did not say whether the past-tense wording meant a cost change had already taken place. The source material notes reports of a post from Grok’s official account attributing “adjusted allocations” to costs and mentioning a dashboard fault, but says the post could not be located. Those details should be treated as reported, not confirmed here.

OpenAI’s card-and-device help page reportedly gives no numerical subscription cap, leaving users without a published threshold in the source material. The exact token allowances, reset arrangements and practical effect of the December shared pool are also not fully set out here. It is unclear how often users will encounter the limits or whether providers plan further price or policy changes.

December’s Shared Allowance Rollout

OpenAI says the shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex on Plus, Pro and Business plans begins in December. Users and businesses can watch for updated plan pages that spell out the token amounts, reset periods and which activities count toward the pool. Those details will show how the change works in practice.

For Grok Bot, the source material identifies no announced reset, new cap, price change or timetable from Musk. Further clarity depends on xAI publishing usage or pricing details, or making a direct announcement. Until then, claims about the size of Grok Bot’s costs or the precise reason users ran out of usage remain unsubstantiated by the cited post.

Key Questions

Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific new limit was announced in the quoted post. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably expensive relative to revenue, but did not give a limit, reset plan or price change.

What is OpenAI changing for paid ChatGPT accounts?

OpenAI’s help information says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using one card or device. The source material says no numerical cap is published.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared allowance from December 2026. The source material does not give the full allowance amounts or reset details.

Are AI subscriptions ending their flat monthly prices?

The cited developments do not establish that flat monthly pricing is ending. They show that providers can pair subscriptions with usage pools, account controls and limits; what customers receive depends on each plan’s published terms.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Could KLEVV’s New DDR5 Memory Bring EXPO ULL Compatibility To 128 GB Kits?

KLEVV’s CRAS V RGB PRIME DDR5 lineup includes a 128GB kit and AMD EXPO ULL, but its 4% gaming claim and kit-specific speeds need context.

Seagate Technology Surges In Global Coverage

Seagate Technology experiences a significant surge in worldwide media mentions, with 24 times the usual coverage, signaling heightened industry and public interest.

Broadcom’s Role In Paying For Anthropic’s Chips: A $63 Billion Story

Banks and Blackstone committed $63 billion for an Anthropic chip-leasing vehicle, with Broadcom supporting the senior debt. Key risk terms remain undisclosed.

Claude Code’s Clone Refusal: A Look At AI And Copyright

Anthropic confirmed a Claude Code instruction against recreating specific games, while allowing original and genre-based game projects.