Why IT executives prefer ITIL 4 Certification Training

ITIL or the Information Technology Infrastructure Library is a framework that is utilized by IT companies to manage IT service deliveries. ITIL is a standard that includes predefined processes and activities for all the stages of development of IT services. 

When a company implements the ITIL framework, they ensure that they deliver their IT services according to well-defined processes. This allows end-users to benefit from a predictable level of service. This is why IT executives are increasingly turning to ITIL 4 Foundation certification. This course helps them enhance their skills in IT service management. 

Why is ITIL necessary?

ITIL is necessary because the benefits it offers add immense value to IT service delivery. Its benefits are –

  • Improved delivery of services
  • Enhanced customer satisfaction
  • A synergy between IT and the business
  • Cost reduction due to better utilization and management of resources 
  • Business risk and disruption of services are managed better
  • The service environment remains stable to support constant business change

What is ITIL?

ITIL was developed during the 1980s by a United Kingdom government agency called the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency. 

In today’s world, IT is a vital mechanism for delivery services for companies that depend on complex computing technology to keep their businesses operate and generate revenue. With ITIL, these companies can create a documented process that helps them in staying focused on minor as well as major details of rolling out IT services and their management later.

The ITIL service lifecycle includes the following phases with supporting processes and policies in each phase –

  • Service strategy
    In this phase, the focus is on labeling services as strategic assets and then maintaining a deliberate strategy to operate them. The policies in the service strategy phase involve business processes, corporate policies and culture, corporate governance, compliance, and constant improvement in services.

  • Service design
    The service design phase involves the assessment of processes that are used to manage a business, such as availability and capacity, to create new offerings or improve existing ones.

  • Service transition
    This phase covers the shift from development to production, including quality control and testing.

  • Service operation
    The service operation phase deals with the management of services once they are in use. The instances included in this stage are access management, event management, application lifecycle, incident response, and helpdesk support. 

  • Constant improvement of services
    In this phase, new requirements are defined for the preceding phases on the basis of operational feedback. This phase ensures that policies are consistently applied and all service level agreements are met. It also ensures that all operational lessons are implemented into future or existing service improvements.

    Although the ITIL scope may appear to be vast, the value it brings is unmatchable. This framework gives businesses the discipline and structure to design, deliver, and manage services in a timely manner. Before ITIL entered the picture, innumerable IT projects suffered cost overruns, mismanagement, and failed to produce the required results. ITIL is the solution to all of these problems. 

5 Types of ITIL Certification Courses

  1. ITIL Foundation Certification
    ITIL has a foundational certification course that includes the basics of ITIL. Most beginners begin their ITIL journey from here. The foundational course does not have any prerequisites so any interested person can take the course. An example of this is the ITIL 4 Foundation certification.

  2. ITIL Practitioner
    The ITIL Practitioner course has recently been added to the list of ITIL certifications. This course involves the practical knowledge of the ITIL processes and learning to implement them in businesses. 

  3. ITIL Intermediate
    The ITIL intermediate course moves towards specializations within the ITIL family. It has a set of modules that focus on specific phases of IT service management. All of the modules are categorized as Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

    Service lifecycle modules include –
    – Service strategy
    – Service design
    – Service transition
    – Service operation
    – Continual service improvement

    Service capability modules include –
    – Planning, protection and optimization
    – Operational support and analysis
    – Service offerings and agreements
    – Release, control and validation

  4. ITIL Expert
    The ITIL expert is the first of the advanced certification programs. It includes the entire scope and breadth of all ITIL processes and practices. It is a prerequisite for the ITIL Master course.

  5. ITIL Master
    The ITIL master is the pinnacle of the ITIL certification program. It empowers a practitioner with the ability to apply the ITIL framework in real-world scenarios. The course covers everything from the foundation course to the expert course. The objective is to allow an ITIL master to have complete mastery over the ITIL framework.

Why companies prefer hiring ITIL certified professionals

ITIL has been widely adopted to be the primary framework for IT service delivery globally. Because of the vital role ITIL plays in the IT service industry, companies prefer prospects who have ITIL certification such as ITIL 4 Foundation certification. 

Listed below are the benefits that ITIL practitioners offer to companies –

  • They understand the ITIL framework and processes
    The ITIL framework is a set of best practices for IT service management. It helps in the creation of value for end-users. ITIL certified prospects are well-versed with ITIL practices and are a perfect fit for companies looking for business excellence.

  • In line with global IT service management standards
    The ITIL framework is in alignment with most quality standards used globally such as the ISO/IEC 20000 standard for ITMS. Due to the global reach of the ITIL framework, ITIL certified professionals are considered versatile and can use their skills in a range of industries and businesses. 

  • Professionals who are certified are desirable employees
    It has been observed that employees who have appropriate certifications are reliable, knowledgeable, and confident employees. They fit into their job roles easily and quickly and become proficient within a short duration.


For those looking to make a career in IT service management, ITIL certifications are a great enabler. They can help you land a high paying job and enhance your capabilities to make your mark in this sector.